How to Use Your Love Language

August 22nd, 2022 | By Trelawney

The Five Love Languages: How to Express Heartfelt Commitment to Your Mate was written in 1992 by family counsellor, Gary Chapman. It suggests that people experience and express love in five different ways. Developing an understanding of our personal love language allows us to form stronger relationships and grow closer to our partners. It also helps us identify who is definitely not right for us! Here, we discuss how to use your love language.

Learn How Love Speaks to You

Gary Chapman believes the five different ways in which people experience and express love are as follows:

Five Love Languages

Words of Affirmation:

Words of affection are important to those who use them as a love language. People within this group frequently need to hear words like ‘I love you’. They appreciate compliments and regular digital contact ie. texts and social media interaction.

Quality Time:

This group feels happiest when with a partner who loves to spend quality time with them. They need to feel seen and heard. Presence is valued within the relationship.

Acts of Service:

Those who value Acts of Service enjoy partners who like to make things easier for them. Making coffee in the mornings or running errands; it’s the active gestures that count.


This group recognises the thought behind giving visual symbols of love. They value the gift-giving process. Monetary value isn’t the driving factor here; it’s the consideration and reflection.

Physical Touch:

The emotional connection of physical touch is important to this group; they feel loved when receiving physical signs of affection.

To uncover your own love language, you can take Gary Chapman’s test.

Get in touch to find out what our memberships can do for you!

One of our membership advisers will get in touch with you to go through your options.